Kawasaki Brute Forum banner

750 jetting issues?

2K views 12 replies 2 participants last post by  bustedknckles 
#1 ·
Hello all, new guy here, hoping to get some help with a bothersome issue I cant seem to sort out with my 06 BF750.
first I will start out by saying that wrenching is what I do for a living, however my experience lies mostly in the automotive realm so I am by no means an expert on when it comes to carbureted small engines, much less Kawasaki twins.

back story on the quad, three years ago I traded some work for a 06 BF750 with a grenaded gearbox. Tore it all apart and replaced all the gearbox internals with used parts from eBay, 16 hours, a tech manual, and a gasket set later it was back together. I set the the valve clearance as I put it together and also cleaned the carbs. right out the gate it ran like crap, backfired and bogged out on acceleration etc. I realized if I kept it partially choked until it was fully up to temp it would run pretty good and once the fan had cycled a couple times I could pull the choke off and she would run like a banshee!!