Kawasaki Brute Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i took off actuator and tested with battery charger and it works. however the switch doesnt seem to engage into 4x4. i checked switch. there is a green wire and a black yellow stripe wire. when i check wire the is continuity when switch is positioned in 2wd. whe switched to 4wd then my meter reads differently. what else can i check as i am new to owning a brute force? does the engine brake actuator have to work for the 4wd actuator to work also? also my dash is flashing. it shows 2wd for a second and then 4wd and back and forth. im stumped.

·
Super Moderator
13,356 Posts
The flashing 2/4wd light means there is an error code. One of the actuators has a problem or the system has a problem and as long as that problem exists, actuator control voltage is terminated. No actuator will work. Check for power at the switch with the green wire. It normally will have 4.7 volts. Now with the error it should be zero.

Get the service manual and start checking things...find and fix the problem and all will be good again.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i started checking the control box according to service manual. when i get to the part on checking the 2wd/4wd switch, it does not read the correct voltage it should have. i took switch off and it looks structually sound. my comment is i dont understand how this would be the problem if its just a simple switch. it connects the two wires together and thats what its doing. if i replace with new switch i feel it would be same voltage. its reading 0.18 volts when switch is on 4wd. could it simply be bad control box?

·
Super Moderator
13,356 Posts