Crank Bolt removal 08 BF 650 KVF 4x4i - Kawasaki Brute Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old January 23rd, 2019, 11:46 AM Thread Starter

Crank Bolt removal 08 BF 650 KVF 4x4i

Hi all, I am new to the forums. Hopefully, someone here can help me before I break something expensive.

I am attempting to replace what I think is known as the "Starter Drive Idle Gear Sprocket". It's a small gear with a built-in clutch that sits close to the starter so when the starter is activated, it engages this gear that in turn rotates a chain to turn over the engine.

I have read other posts where people have broken off the head of the crank bolt. I don't want to break it and I don't know if the bolt is lefty loosy/righty tighty or is it left handed thread. My service/repair manual doesn't specify this task anywhere so I ended up here.

Can anyone help me out? It is very much appreciated. I am a farmer and depend heavily on my 4x4 working as it is a work vehicle.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	08 BF 650 kvf 4x4i.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	53.8 KB
ID:	6639  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old January 23rd, 2019, 12:57 PM

Garage